To Delete Your Android Phone Completely Before You Sell It

According to most technology experts, you can now safely sell your smartphone or pass it on to someone else. However, a restart of the factory is not reassuring for some people.

The system will likely provide you with one or two confirmation screens and will then ask you to enter your PIN, pattern or password for protection. Complete all of these tasks, sit back and wait while Android does its job. If you haven’t done this yet, you can activate Smart Storage here, which supports photos and videos that are over 30, 60 or 90 days old in the cloud service. This option means that you can delete photos from your device, but you can view them via the Google Photos application as long as you have an internet connection. Dropbox offers 2 GB free space and is a simple solution if you only want to back up files and synchronize between your devices.

However, if you want to completely delete your Android phone, the answer to this problem is very simple. All you have to do is encrypt your phone data before you reset it to the factory. If you do these simple steps, you can easily protect your personal information and be sure before you give away your phone. Taking the basic steps (deleting data or reformatting a computer’s hard drive or restoring it from the factory to a smartphone or tablet) could be enough to discourage identity thieves. However, this approach is by no means a guarantee and it will not stop anyone who is specifically behind your files, accounts or photos. First, a lot of data is loaded into your phone (dummy data or meaningless content like some big videos) until the memory is complete.

SSDs use a technique called wear leveling to extend the life. A side effect of this process, however, is that the data can remain in meid vs imei one unit even after deletion. Instead of using special software to delete the contents of an SSD, it is better to encrypt the drive.

However, this can be difficult because these devices are so fragile. “The best way to clean the screens for all of your electronic devices is a microfiber cloth,” said Burton Kelso, blogger behind The Technology Expert at Integral Computer Consultants. Because all settings and personal information are removed by performing a reset, you need to reconfigure your iPhone as you did when it came out of the box.

“Deleting all data from your phone runs the risk of removing something that is important to you forever,” Shotwell explains. ‚ÄúThis can be personal information, photos, videos, files or other data. Users must make a backup copy of all the data they perform .”Technically speaking, there are ways to restore data after a restart. However, this is complicated and not guaranteed at all. Better not risk. Have you received the notification “Telephone memory is complete” on your iOS or Android phone??? You are not alone: Asurion experts often hear how you can solve this problem.

The BlackBerry operating system has changed so much over the years that it is impossible to provide detailed steps for encrypting and resetting any device. However, the basic steps are very similar to those of iOS and Android and should be roughly tailored to the instructions below. Once your device has encrypted and restarted your data, you will need to re-enter your PIN or password to return to Android. If you have an Android phone, you need to start the recovery mode, which can vary from phone to phone. In my Samsung Galaxy S10e, for example, I have to hold down the Volume Down, Bixby and Power buttons for a few seconds until the recovery menu is displayed. In Pixel 2, you must simultaneously hold down the Lower Volume and Switch off buttons and then select the recovery mode with the volume keys.